Retired but low income

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
pocketplayer

Retired but low income

Post by pocketplayer »

I'm 61, single, no kids and took early retirement six years ago
and got creamed for early retirement. I make only $490 a month.
I was a teacher and will not get SSI but a meager $235 when I turn 62.

Ive had very difficult family relations since my dad died and left me
an inheritance of $360k which Ive had in a MM. I live off of $20k in
my checking account for rent which is only $350 a month. I need to get
back in the market with a plan.

Ive battled mental health issues (bipolar depression with acute anxiety).
I was in a fog after my dad passed and played it safe by going almost
all MM.

I have a rollover IRA w/$88K, brokerage acct (MM) w/$439K ans a Roth IRA
Rollover brokerage acct w/$13k

I need to get the IRA rollover and MM acct's back in the game but feel lost.

Any advice appreciated.
CAsage

Re: Retired but low income

Post by CAsage »

You have a decent nest egg, hopefully low overall expenses (rent plus???). What might be useful would be a Target Date 2020 or 2025 Index fund (a mix of stocks/bonds for current retirees). The rule of thumb is you can withdraw about 4% of your nest egg value today, to hopefully stretch over your life. What other expenses do you have, and is there any opportunity to work part time to increase your income?
Salvia Clevelandii "Winifred Gilman" my favorite. YMMV; not a professional advisor.
GAAP

Post by GAAP »

Not sure I'm reading this correctly, so here's what I think you have:

Assets:
  • Rollover IRA (TIRA/Tax-deferred): $88K
  • Brokerage acct (MM): $439K
  • Roth IRA: $13k
Liabilities:
  • No debt?
Income:
  • Pension: $490/month (COLA?)
  • SSI: $0 (permanently)
  • SSI replacement income: $235@age 62 (COLA?, any benefit from deferring to later age?)
Expense:
  • Rent: $350/month
  • Other expenses not clear