half high income physician, half financial illiterate

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Bones_Jones

half high income physician, half financial illiterate

Post by Bones_Jones »

My circumstances:

I'm a 44 year old physician. Last year was a challenging period for me. As a self-employed physician working for various telehealth companies, I faced significant setbacks:

1. I lost a highly lucrative telehealth job. It was paying me 550k a year.
2. Financial strain led me to attempt to sell my home, but when that failed, I resorted to a short sale.
3. My wife and I had approximately $410,000 in student loans, prompting us to opt for a debt settlement plan, which we aim to pay off within four years, settling about $240,000 of the debt. Credit already ruined because of short sale, so we've decided to do this. Interest on our student loans were in 7% range.

However, my situation has since improved. I secured a new job that offers substantially higher pay than the one I lost, projecting an annual income of about $800,000. Nonetheless, I lack job security due to being a self-employed contractor. The reason for my previous job loss was the company's struggles during the COVID-19 pandemic, leading to staff cuts, particularly among high-earning physicians like myself.

My current monthly income is approximately $67,000, and my expenses include:

1. Student loan Debt settlement fee: $5,200
2. Rent for a two-bedroom apartment: $4,000
3. Maxing out SEP IRA contributions: $5,500
4. Investing in an M1 stock account: $1,000
5. Contributing to a 529 college plan: $1,000
6. Supporting my parents financially: $6,000
7. Car payment for a 2012 BMW X5: $382 (down from $750 for a Lexus)
8. Funding a telehealth business I've started: $3,000-$4,000 for Google ads
9. Health insurance: $1,000
10. Malpractice insurance: $1,500