Selling individual stocks to invest in Index Fund

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
mrgoodnotgood

Selling individual stocks to invest in Index Fund

Post by mrgoodnotgood »

I'm new to investing and even newer to the Boglehead mindset -- which I've quickly grown to admire. Before bumping into you fine folk I made a few "let's give this a try" investments. One that I really regret was putting $3,000 on Ford Motor Co. which almost immediately nosedived after my purchase. Now that it's getting back closer to the price I purchased it at I'd love to cut my losses and move this money into VTI. What's the best way to do this? It's been less than a year since I purchased Ford for $17.40/share, it's now $15.37.

Many thank yous!!
sycamore

Re: Selling individual stocks to invest in Index Fund

Post by sycamore »

mrgoodnotgood wrote: Thu Aug 04, 2022 6:11 pm I'm new to investing and even newer to the Boglehead mindset -- which I've quickly grown to admire. Before bumping into you fine folk I made a few "let's give this a try" investments. One that I really regret was putting $3,000 on Ford Motor Co. which almost immediately nosedived after my purchase. Now that it's getting back closer to the price I purchased it at I'd love to cut my losses and move this money into VTI. What's the best way to do this? It's been less than a year since I purchased Ford for $17.40/share, it's now $15.37.

Many thank yous!!
Welcome to the forum!

I would do what you would love to do:
1. Sell your Ford stock right away. No need to wait for it to get back to even. On your 2022 taxes you can use the loss to offset any taxable capital gain you might have, or up to $3000 in ordinary income.