I have 500k to invest but keep procrastinating

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Reuben1980

I have 500k to invest but keep procrastinating

Post by Reuben1980 »

I’m 42. Have a house paid off, brand new car paid off. No student loans. Have two kids 12 and 6 years old. My wife works too, we make between 110k to 150k annually most comes from my job as she only makes 30k. We r debt free. I have been reading a lot . I’ve learned about investing. Started 2 years ago with Roth ira and 40k up to the company match and maxing out the Roth. My problem is not these retirement accounts. I’m having trouble deciding what to do. I have been working very hard and saving since 1999 and paid my taxes. I now have more than 500k in savings acc plus 20k I bonds and 11k roth 12k 401k. I’m having trouble investing a lump sum. I’m not used to it as I came from a poor family. I’m nervous and I’ve read a lot and do understand it now. But I keep on procrastinating and my money keeps on loosing to inflation. Any idea what to do? Thx
typical.investor

Re: I have 500k to invest but keep procrastinating

Post by typical.investor »

Welcome!
Reuben1980 wrote: Wed Aug 03, 2022 2:37 am I’m 42. Have a house paid off, brand new car paid off. No student loans. Have two kids 12 and 6 years old.
Nice job getting the 500k
Reuben1980 wrote: Wed Aug 03, 2022 2:37 am now have more than 500k in savings acc plus 20k I bonds and 11k roth 12k 401k. I’m having trouble investing a lump sum. I’m not used to it as I came from a poor family. I’m nervous and I’ve read a lot and do understand it now. But I keep on procrastinating and my money keeps on loosing to inflation. Any idea what to do? Thx
Shouldn't you have more in the ROTH and 401k? Are you maxing your contributions?

Half my family was poorer than the other half. I notice the half that was a little better off invested when they could.