Please review my newish retiree T Bill plan (vs other vehicles?)

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
DebiT

Please review my newish retiree T Bill plan (vs other vehicles?)

Post by DebiT »

Hi all. I am still learning how to do this being retired thing, and have got most aspects comfortable now, including how to pay my bills. Now I'd like to squeeze a little more return out of my cash by using T Bills. I made a spreadsheet to see how this looks in terms of having enough actual cash on hand month by month, and it looks good to me.

Basically I want to always have 2 years of cash at the beginning of each year, and replenish that annually with a withdrawal from my taxable account. I'm 65, currently invested at 40/60, and at today's valuations have 16 years in fixed income and 27 years in my total portfolio. When I do my annual withdrawal from taxable, I would be selling stock there and then rebalancing my AA by buying stock in my tIRA. My plan is do this regardless of whether BND is still down, in service of keeping 2 years of cash. That means that functionally 1 year of cash will "never" get used, so I plan to buy 2 T Bills now (half each of one years expenses each, for flexibility) that mature around the end of the year (if possible), and then every year around the first to re-purchase 2 52-week TBills if that is still a good idea.

Currently my 2nd year cash is in SWVXX, a Schwab money market fund. It should be noted that Schwab doesn't do sweep funds, so right now, to replenish my cash I have to take action to sell SWVXX. That irritates me, because almost every other aspect of my finances is now automatic, with Schwab pushing cash to my Wells Fargo account to pay bills. So one benefit of my plan below is that I will automatically have cash getting refreshed.