Cantor Fitzgerald Income Trust

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
dekecarver

Cantor Fitzgerald Income Trust

Post by dekecarver »

Hi all,
Recently a CFA suggested that I look into Cantor Fitzgerald Income Trust as a diversifying uncorrelated asset to equities vs an index REIT. I have no knowledge of this firm (starting to read up on) and was wondering if any of you have and if so, your experience.

Thanks
unclescrooge

Re: Cantor Fitzgerald Income Trust

Post by unclescrooge »

Seems like a private REIT.

There are a lot of such REITs. Some are good, many are bad. Nearly all are illiquid.

If I are looking for an uncorrelated asset class to equities, then the ability to sell so I can rebalance my portfolio is important to me.

In that case, private REITs would fail that test.

OTOH, if I was looking for income then I might potentially consider looking at these.
Last edited by unclescrooge on Fri Jan 14, 2022 8:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
David Jay

Post by David Jay »

I don’t know anything about the trust, but a REIT mutual fund is an equity fund, so it will be closely correlated to equities. By comparison, anything with a significant allocation of fixed income will be less correlated to equities than an index REIT fund.
It's not an engineering problem - Hersh Shefrin | To get the "risk premium", you really do have to take the risk - nisiprius
Wiggums

Post by Wiggums »

dekecarver wrote: Fri Jan 14, 2022 1:33 pm Hi all,
Recently a CFA suggested that I look into Cantor Fitzgerald Income Trust as a diversifying uncorrelated asset to equities vs an index REIT. I have no knowledge of this firm (starting to read up on) and was wondering if any of you have and if so, your experience.

Thanks
That fund gives off a lot of non qualified dividends, which is not ideal and a taxable account.