Cost Basis Adjustment for Inherited Shares

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
JetTodd

Cost Basis Adjustment for Inherited Shares

Post by JetTodd »

Hello,
I am wondering about the options of taking vs not taking the cost basis adjustment upon inheriting shares.

I'm new to this experience! Please help.
Geologist

Re: Cost Basis Adjustment for Inherited Shares

Post by Geologist »

You don't really give details, but the basic statement is you don't have an option. If you inherit shares, the cost basis is adjusted (whether that is up or down).
trueblueky

Post by trueblueky »

JetTodd wrote: Wed Jan 12, 2022 8:04 pm Hello,
I am wondering about the options of taking vs not taking the cost basis adjustment upon inheriting shares.

In general, there is no option. The shares' basis is reset on date of death.
See IRS Pub 551 for some nuance.
https://www.irs.gov/publications/p551
Gill

Post by Gill »

I assume you’d be happy to have the basis adjusted upwards but not down. There is no such option.
Gill
Cost basis is redundant. One has a basis in an investment | One advises and gives advice | One should follow the principle of investing one's principal
billfromct

Post by billfromct »

You would not want the higher cost basis on inherited shares because…

bill
Topic Author
JetTodd

Post by JetTodd »

You are all so appreciated!
When I spoke with the vanguard rep, he shared VG no longer automatically reset cost basis. I wondered why the default is now NOT to adjust. Seems a disservice.

Many of you say it’s automatic. Maybe I misunderstood, but I’m certain the person I spoke with said no, they cost basis would not be reset unless I fill out a form, called quite literally:
Cost Basis Adjustment For Inherited Shares Form

My take away is you all feel having the cost basis for funds grown in value makes sense. I’ll fill out the form.
I just know there are many nuances to miss.
Thanks so much!