Withdrawal from taxable account question.

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
bearwithme

Withdrawal from taxable account question.

Post by bearwithme »

Me wife and I have been contributing to a taxable account for several years in hopes of someday using the proceeds to help purchase property. We are getting to the point where we are close to making that purchase (next year or maybe two). My question is in regards to the actual withdrawal from the taxable account, since we have never withdrew anything from the account. How is this taxed? Subject to your ordinary income tax? If so, should we plan to withdraw a portion during 2021 and then another in 2022 so we don't jump tax brackets? As you can see, we have been great about the contribution part, but not do much the withdraw part so a lot of rookie questions lol.

Thanks in advanced BH's!
LilyFleur

Re: Withdrawal from taxable account question.

Post by LilyFleur »

At Schwab, we can look at the cost basis for various purchases. That way you can strategize about paying the taxes and select the lot that you want to sell.

If you're at Schwab, you can use the chat function online and get more information about this, 24/7. Be sure to save the chat.
livesoft

Post by livesoft »

Withdrawals are taxed as described in IRS Publication 550 with numbers that you enter on IRS Form 1040 Schedule D and the tax worksheets associated with it. Key terms: Long-term capital gains, Long-term capital gains tax, Cost basis. You may also have Short-term capital gains and Short-term capital gains tax.
Wiki This signature message sponsored by sscritic: Learn to fish.
Rager1

Post by Rager1 »

You'll be subject to capital gain tax rates, not income tax rates.