I am new to HSA BANK - go with Devenir or TD Ameritrade?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
doss

I am new to HSA BANK - go with Devenir or TD Ameritrade?

Post by doss »

I did search this forum and saw some topics about this, but the dates were wide ranging and some say there were certain fees prior but no longer. I am confused. What's the latest on Devenir and TDA? Is there a preference as to what investment option I should go for?

“ The long-term 9%-10% nominal return of the stock market INCLUDES the crashes.” — calvin+hobbs
runninginvestor

Re: I am new to HSA BANK - go with Devenir or TD Ameritrade?

Post by runninginvestor »

Td Ameritrade seemed to be the far better option when we did this a few months ago for my spouse. There should be a few schedule for the HSA account and another for the TD self directed brokerage (sdba).

Our HSA program waives the monthly fee with $3k in the hsa cash account. You can move any amount over $1k to td Ameritrade. We set up the auto sweep from HSA side to sweep any amount over $3k to td. Then we can purchase ETFs/mutual funds/stocks.

Most people here will say transfer to lively/fidelity for the lowest fees. We have a good employer contribution to HSA bank ao we are fine with the td Ameritrade setup as there are practically no fees.

Devenir charges some additional asset based fees if I remember right.
wetgear

Post by wetgear »

Fidelity is the best option as far as I can tell. I roll over from my employer HSA provider each year to my Fidelity HSA account.
chungus

Post by chungus »

In a similar situation, we used TD Ameritrade. Then switched to Fidelity. Good experience with both. Annual rollover from HSA Bank to Fidelity is a cinch.

If you’re keeping things simple with a Bogleheads like approach…either custodian works out fine. Low cost, plenty of good options, reputable, etc.
StudentofFI

Post by StudentofFI »