401(k) Loans

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
dunk1234

401(k) Loans

Post by dunk1234 »

I'm new to investing and to having a 401(k). So I had two related questions.

First: I have friends at work who are fond of taking loans from their 401(k)s and "paying the loan interest to themselves." I hear things like "that's how Ralph bought his X, Y, and Z (toys)." Friends make this out to be a win-win move. I believe it isn't. Could anyone help me articulate why this isn't win-win, and elucidate the costs of such activity? Thank you.

Second: Even though this 401(k) loan opportunity is not a "free lunch," could it possibly be used as a substitute for an emergency fund? My EF is currently held in a taxable account...

Thanks for any insights you might offer.
Brianmcg321

Re: 401(k) Loans

Post by Brianmcg321 »

Loans from 401k are terrible ideas. You're taking money out of the market. Its a lose, lose. Your friends need to learn how to budget their money better.

Another bad reason is if for some reason they lose their job, change jobs, get laid off, or if the company just changes hands, the loan is required to be payed back immediately or you pay a penalty on the withdrawal. I've seen more than a few people that got burned when the company changed hands a few times. People had taken out loans on their 401k and then literally a month later the company bought out by another company. That $40,000 truck they bought wasn't such a good idea.

No, it is not a substitute for an emergency fund. Stop playing games with your retirement money.
Rules to investing: | 1. Don't lose money. | 2. Don't forget rule number 1.
Topic Author
dunk1234

Post by dunk1234 »

Thanks Brianmcg321,

I understand from you that the two primary costs are a) loss of gains on investment, and b) risk of 10% withdrawal penalty.