Transfer from American funds to Vanguard frozen Simple

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
kristin735

Transfer from American funds to Vanguard frozen Simple

Post by kristin735 »

I know this topic has been covered here but I'm getting conflicting information so I am hoping to get advice. I'm an absolute beginner at this so if my terminology in incorrect please excuse my errors.

I have a 5305 Simple IRA through my employer at American Funds (beyond 2 years) and I'm hoping to pay less in fees and open up my investing choices by transferring the account to Vanguard.

Thought I had the mechanics of the transfer worked out as the following:
1. Set up a "frozen" Simple IRA at vanguard and do trustee to trustee transfer of current funds.
2. Sell American Funds MF in my new account at Vanguard and purchase low ER Vanguard Index Funds
3. Change my contribution election at American Funds to the Money Market Fund
4. Fill out "Simple IRA Transfer Election" form for American funds to do monthly recurring transfers from American Funds account to Vanguard

I called American Funds today to confirm. I asked them about the difference between transferring into another Simple or rolling over to a traditional IRA. I wanted to know if the automatic recurring transfer would be possible in either case. They said it was only possible to do that with a Simple to Simple transfer. Otherwise the transfer request would need to be done from Vanguard's side. So from this discussion I concluded it would be easiest to set up the frozen Simple at Vanguard as suggested by others, thanked them and said goodbye.