Help with portfolio allocations

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
gray037

Help with portfolio allocations

Post by gray037 »

Hi everyone. I am new to the world of investing. This week, after trying to educate myself on what/where to invest, I officially started saving for retirement. I had nothing before, but I did have over $50K in a checking account. As of today, my work 401k contributions have been set at 25% to max out at $19500 per year, not including my employer's 3% match. Yesterday, I took $12K from my checking and opened a Roth IRA with Vangard by slipping in just in time to put $6K for 2020 and $6K for 2021. My plan moving forward is to always contribute max to 401K per year and at the beginning of each year, deposit the $6K for the Roth (if I should be spreading this out through the year instead, please let me know.)

The main question and reason for this post is what should I start my allocations? I'm 38, make $77500 per year plus 10% bonus possibility and my only debt outside of living expenses ($1900 for everything) is an SUV I just bought and owe $19800 @ 2.41%. I'm in the middle of reading the Boglehead's Guide to Investing and I'm torn between 100% stock and 80/20 stock-bonds. I do have an emergency fund of about $45K.

Please guide me on where I should set these allocations.
retired@50

Re: Help with portfolio allocations

Post by retired@50 »

gray037 wrote: Wed May 05, 2021 1:41 pm Please guide me on where I should set these allocations.
Welcome to the forum. :happy

Maybe doing some reading about asset allocation would be helpful.
Link: https://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Asset_allocation