30 Year Old; First Steps into Financial Readiness

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
love0050

30 Year Old; First Steps into Financial Readiness

Post by love0050 »

I’m a 30-year-old Analyst living in the Tampa Bay Area, making $80,000 a year ($66,500 after taxes). I have a spouse and a son (3 years old). I was very fortunate to not be laid off during COVID (when many others were not so fortunate), but took this as an opportunity to become more proactive when it comes to my financial picture. I started investing (outside of my 401-K), reading and generally soaking up as much info as I could when it comes to personal finance. I stumbled upon this blog and have been an avid reader (less frequent poster).

I’m trying to gauge where I’m at, AND if I have a sound plan moving forward. I welcome any input.

Assets: $89,650K (Not including home equity)
Military TSP: $28,000 (separating in less than 1 year, and no longer contributing to it, planning on rolling $6K into my Fidelity Roth IRA, $14,700 into my employer-sponsored Roth 401-K (Between my employer and I, we contribute $4,800 annually to it, so this will make it up to the $19,500 limit). The remaining amount will go into my Traditional Fidelity Brokerage Account (I still need to figure out the taxes, and set that amount aside).
Employer Roth 401-K: $4,000 (I contribute $200 monthly and my employer matches $200. This is the fully match maximum).
Spouses Stock Ownership: $17,000 (she works for Publix and they routinely give their employees stock based on hours worked. There is NOT an option to set this up for DRIP).
Spouses 401-K: $18,000 (she works part-time and contributes 10% of her paycheck with Publix matching 4%).
Personal Fidelity Account: Valued at $8,500 (invested exclusively in VTI).
Fidelity Roth Account: Valued at $5,000 (invested exclusively in VTI).