HSA and California move

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
seeker24

HSA and California move

Post by seeker24 »

Hello BHs,

I currently have my job in CA since early 2021, but have been working remotely from OH. Prior to this job, I have been residing in midwest for the last 10 years and have regularly contributed to my HSA from previous employers. I recently moved all my HSA funds from previous employer custodians to Fidelity HSA and invested in FZROX, VTI and FXAIX. Funds sitting at 70k.

With my current employer in CA, I do contribute to HE HSA. it's current value is <1k now. So to summarize, I have 2 HSA accounts:
- Fidelity HSA from previous employers. Not contributing. Funds invested in FZROX, VTI and FXAIX.
- HE HSA from current employer. Contributing but not investing.

I am reading that in CA state, HSA is not tax deductible. And I pay income tax on amount I contribute in HSA. I read through a post on HSA strategies for CA and NJ.

Questions:
- I plan to move to CA by end of 2021. Will be part CA resident by end of this tax year. Will I pay taxes on both my Fidelity HSA and HE HSA for 2021?
- What I can do differently NOW to not attract tax liabilities due to Fidelity HSA when I move to CA?
- Planning to move to CA in Dec this year. Should I delay my move to CA to Jan 2022 to avoid tax issues?

Thanks!
jack.bauer

Re: HSA and California move

Post by jack.bauer »

Just to make sure its clear that only the CA portion that is taxable. In the bigger case (federal), HSAs are still exempt.

TurboTax (or similar) handles this for you, at least when you are full year CA resident. I remember when I moved to CA more than a decade ago, I had to tweak some input. Dont recall it precisely. But it led to a very minor reduction in my CA tax.

I would not worry much about this at all ... especially if you plan to use HSA for long term stock holding.
retired@50

Post by retired@50 »