Should I use I bonds as emergency fund?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
dboeger1

Should I use I bonds as emergency fund?

Post by dboeger1 »

Hello fellow Bogleheads,

I realize this is one of those topics that has been discussed quite a bit, but I'm still very new to fixed income in general and find all the wiki pages a bit overwhelming.

2 working spouses, ages 29 and 28
1st baby due later this year

Income:

+$125k his
+$125k hers
=$250k total, give or take bonuses
hers expected to increase soon by unknown amount with promotion

Property:

+$760k home value in HCOL area
-$505k mortgage @ 2.625% 30-year
=$255k equity

+$16k car value

Portfolio:

+$102k his 401k
+$68k her 401k
+$104k his rollover IRA
+$5k her rollover IRA
+$57k his Roth IRA
+$16k her Roth IRA
+$15k his HSA
+$33k his taxable brokerage
=$400k total before future taxes

Cash:

$45k

Net Worth:

$700k excluding car

Annual Expenses:

Measured around $60k after income taxes, so I'll guesstimate $80k with taxes. This may very well change in the near future due to having child(ren).

Asset Allocation:

For all intents and purposes, our non-cash investments are 100% global cap-weight stocks (VTWAX). It varies slightly due to fund choices in some accounts but our target is essentially VTWAX. More on the cash portion below.

Risk Profile: