Transferring entire 500k taxable account to Bitcoin?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
bigguy8437

Transferring entire 500k taxable account to Bitcoin?

Post by bigguy8437 »

Long story short, I’m 28 and been a boglehead since I was 21 (look back at my post history!). I’m a CPA myself, max out my Roth IRA, HSA (starting this year!) 401k every year. And as crazy as it sounds, I’m seriously considering selling all of my $550k in Vangaurd Total Stock Market (taxable account) to buy Bitcoin. I really do think it is the future and that I can at least 2x my investment (and likely more). I know this isn’t the forum or crowd for it, but how crazy does that sound? Am I taking a huge risk? If I bought Bitcoin, I’d buy it through coin base pro which seems to offer a lot of protection. I really do think Bitcoin can hit 500k in the next 20 years.

*fun fact, I actually bought $20 worth of Bitcoin in 2014. I never tried looking for it until 2018ish, buy the company I used, coinapult, went out of business and I haven’t been able to find anyone to contact to find my Bitcoin.

Lastly, if I live in MA and have an income of 100k, am I being taxed for long term capital gains tax at the 15% federal rate as well as the 5% state rate for MA? I really do believe in Bitcoin, but it really stomachs me to have to pay that much taxes on capital gains. Per vanguard, it looks like my long term capital gains are 287k, not really sure how much tax that calculates out to but doesn’t seem to be ideal

Taxable account: $552k (invested in vanguard total stock market)
Roth IRA: $87k (invested in same as above)
401k: $125k (also invested in same as above)
HSA: $800 (just started using this in 2021)
Total net worth: $765k, so I’d be putting about 70% of my net worth into Bitcoin
Last edited by bigguy8437 on Wed Mar 24, 2021 8:51 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Triple digit golfer