"Inappropriate level of risk"

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
lostchild21

"Inappropriate level of risk"

Post by lostchild21 »

Hi y'all! I am very new to investing, but am 30 years old and started saving late due to school.
I've been reading "The Coffeehouse investor," and read about putting money into index funds then put some of my rollover IRA money into FXAIX (hoping that was an index fund and was correct). I also deposited money into my rollover IRA for 2021 but haven't done anything with it yet (listed as a part of FDRXX?)

I just checked what Fidelity says about my portfolio and under Asset Allocation (55% domestic stock, 16% foreign stock, 6% bonds, 23% short term), it says "The level of stock (equity) in your retirement accounts is generally not associated with someone your age, which may mean an inappropriate level of risk." What does this mean?

Then under Top Positions & Ratings, it says "Great work. Your portfolio doesn't appear to be too heavily weighted in the stocks or bonds of any one company." This is where it lists FDRXX 21%, FXAIX 20%, 3952 16% (idk what this is).

Any advice would be appreciated! I have no idea what I'm doing and want to make sure I have a diverse portfolio to start saving for my future! Thanks!
David Jay

Re: "Inappropriate level of risk"

Post by David Jay »

Welcome to the forum!

Asset allocation (ratio of stocks to fixed income) is a very personal decision, you should probably not listen to anyone who tells you what your asset allocation "should" be.

AA is the primary portfolio "control knob" between growth and stability. Higher percentage of stocks means more potential growth and with more ups-and-downs along the way. Less stocks means a smoother ride but less long term growth. Anything between 90/10 and 50/50 is acceptable if it meets your needs.