Transferring Merrill Roth IRA to Vanguard Roth IRA?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
rsolby

Transferring Merrill Roth IRA to Vanguard Roth IRA?

Post by rsolby »

Context
Thank you so much for the support! Very excited this forum exists to support new investors like myself. For context, I'm a graduate MBA student who converted a majority of my old employer's 401(k) into a Roth IRA in 2020. My logic was that as a student earning very little income in 2020, this would be a great opportunity to make this conversion, pay the applicable taxes now, and be able to invest this without the same tax implications as a traditional 401(k). I'm currently 27 and am seeking to invest in a Vanguard fund/ETF. My Roth IRA account is currently held in a Merrill account, and I'm finding it difficult to find different Vanguard funds on Merrill's site. Not sure if it's a difficult user interface or if I'm missing something.

My Question
Is it prudent to transfer my Merrill Roth IRA to a Vanguard Roth IRA if I'm certain I want to invest in say the Vanguard Target Retirement 2060 fund? I know the transfer can take some time, but I'm not sure if this is my only option given I don't see this fund as an investment option through Merrill. Any additional support is greatly appreciated!

Thank you!

Robert S.
investor997

Re: Transferring Merrill Roth IRA to Vanguard Roth IRA?

Post by investor997 »

I say keep it at Merrill. That way the balance will contribute to BofA/Merrill Premium Rewards status. You can buy Vanguard ETFs. I wouldn't over think it; just buy 70% VTI, 20% VXUS and 10% BND, then instruct Merrill to reinvest dividends automatically.
Shorty

Post by Shorty »

+1