Stable Value Fund & Portfolio Correlation - Advice Needed.

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
STVCT

Stable Value Fund & Portfolio Correlation - Advice Needed.

Post by STVCT »

Hey All,

Thanks for your patience with me, I'm relatively new to taking my investing more seriously. I'm reading a ton of books, and have learned a lot from this forum. As I continue to learn more, some of my posts have involved throwing crazy ideas at the wall to see what sticks - I promise this one is more grounded!

My current portfolio
61% Domestic Index - spread across VTSAX, VTI and my 401k's S&P 500. All expense ratios under 0.04
25% International Index - VXUS (0.08)
14% Reit Index - VNQ (0.12)

My IPS is evolving as I learn more, I haven't written it in stone yet. I'm 34, and feel pretty comfortable with short-term risk in my long-term portfolio, hence 100% equities.

We are all sick of the "are bonds worth it" posts, but for rebalancing purposes I'm considering adding some form of fixed income. I have read many previous posts on the board regarding stable value funds, but didn't find a discussion about correlation. If a stable value fund straddles the line between acting like cash and like bonds, how should I consider it from a correlation perspective? I currently have a weight on REITs, because I want to decrease correlation a bit without a large decrease in risk.