Financial planner vs Own

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
homer77

Financial planner vs Own

Post by homer77 »

Hi,

In 2011, I had 100k of savings but was a complete novice and did not have the time to learn about investing. I gave the 100k to a financial advisor who invested into variety of stocks and has made me a fine return over the last 9 years. But he charges 1.25% interest. I did a little comparison and found that had I invested the same in an index fund (VTI or VOO) in 2011 then my balance would have been about 50K less then it is today with his service. It would have been even less if I had done (60/40) ration.

Meanwhile taking the advice of many, I have continued to invest in low cost index funds over the last few years but recently contemplating giving him another 100k to invest as that would bring the fees down to 1% . I am also considering negotiating the fees with him. I think he charges a minimum of 0.5% so I was hoping I could talk him into that because it may be worth sticking with him then.

Thanks in advance...
Kookaburra

Re: Financial planner vs Own

Post by Kookaburra »

What a nice little story. What exactly is your question?
Topic Author
homer77

Post by homer77 »

sorry if I was not clear....but would you recommend just investing the money on my own in low cost index funds or would you go ahead and continue the ride with FA (knowing that its against the general advice). I am tempted to continue with the FA esp if he settles with lower fees but maybe I am missing something.
drumboy256

Post by drumboy256 »

Sounds to me like you don’t know how to handle money still. I would start there and then come back after some reflection and an understanding of what your risk tolerance is and retirement horizon is.
neverpanic

Post by neverpanic »