AZ Resident Seeking Vanguard 529

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
JHart

AZ Resident Seeking Vanguard 529

Post by JHart »

I finally decided to set up 529's for my kids, ages 8, 6 and 3. I have to admit I am overwhelmed by the choices. My friend a few years ago said go with Utah, but now people are saying Utah is no longer low cost. I'm hoping some of the bright folks here will have insights.

I am an Arizona resident. Ideally I'd like a direct-sold Vanguard option, since most of my assets are at Vanguard and it's nice to see them altogether. It seems like New York is a good option? Thoughts?
livesoft

Re: AZ Resident Seeking Vanguard 529

Post by livesoft »

Utah is low cost. So are many other 529 plans. Many states use Vanguard funds in their 529 plans, so it is very hard to go wrong.

The Arizona 529 plan has a low-cost index funds option through Fidelity, so that may not be a bad choice either. However, while I was using the internet to get more info, I found it rather difficult, so I can see why it would be confusing.

If you insist on direct-sold Vanguard, then I think only the Nevada 529 plan as sold through Vanguard is your option. Arizona allows a deduction on state income tax for some contribution to any state plan, so the Nevada 529 plan would work for that (as would any 529 plan).
Wiki This signature message sponsored by sscritic: Learn to fish.
runner3081

Post by runner3081 »

We are in Arizona and use the Ohio plan with vanguard options.
Pacific

Post by Pacific »

Arizona here using Nevada plan.
Miriam2

Post by Miriam2 »

Here is Morningstar's latest article with their ratings of the plans -

"The Top 529 College Savings Plans for 2020"
https://www.morningstar.com/articles/10 ... ns-of-2020
John Bogle, "The Twelve Pillars of [Financial] Wisdom"- Pillar 5: Diversify, Diversify, Diversify.
retired@50

Post by retired@50 »