Setting up New Portfolio / Transferred to Vanguard from Robo-Adviser

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
PennyWise7

Setting up New Portfolio / Transferred to Vanguard from Robo-Adviser

Post by PennyWise7 »

Introduction: I am new at this because I had some accounts at Wealth Front and consolidated everything to Vanguard six months ago after getting inspired by JL Collins A Simple Path to Wealth. The current allocation described below is after reading and researching and figuring out a plan. I kept most of the money in taxable in bonds and treasuries over the last 6 months as I did not feel comfortable making long term allocations. My proposed allocation is at Question 2 below. I would greatly appreciate your help and thoughts.

Emergency funds: Three to six months of expenses Yes, have this in an online savings account.

Debt: $300,000 mortgage debt on an investment property at 3.75% interest. Plan to sell in next 1-3 years so no plan to refinance.

Tax Filing Status: Single
Tax Rate: 24% Federal, 9.3% State
State of Residence: CA

Amount to invest more than some and less than others

Desired Asset allocation: 75% stocks / 25% bonds
Desired International allocation: 33% of stocks

Current retirement assets 28% of Portfolio: SEP IRA (11%) and a Roth IRA (17%)

A. Taxable
9% CASH (to be invested – does not include emergency funds)
9% VANGUARD TOTAL STOCK MARKET ETF (VTI) (.03%)
54% VANGUARD INTERMEDIATE TERM TREASURY INDEX ETF (VGIT) (.05%)

B. His SEP IRA at Vanguard
1% VANGUARD FTSE ALL WORLD EX US SMALL CAP ETF (VSS) (.11)
1% VANGUARD FTSE DEVELOPED MKTS ETF (VEA) (.05%)
1% VANGUARD FTSE EMERGING MARKETS ETF (VWO) (.10%)
1% VANGUARD INTL DIVID APPREC ETF (VIGI) (.20%)
1% VANGUARD INTL HIGH DIVID YIELD INDEX ETF (VYMI) (.27%)
1% VANGUARD TOTAL INTL STOCK INDEX FUND ETF (VXUS) (.08%)
1% VANGUARD SMALL CAP VALUE ETF ETF(VBR) (.07%)
1% VANGUARD VALUE ETF (VTV) (.04%)