Is solo 401k the right move?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Partyof5

Is solo 401k the right move?

Post by Partyof5 »

Hello, Bogleheads. First-time poster but I’ve lurked around for a while-have learned a lot and gotten some good guidance in the areas of life insurance, personal investing, and college savings. I have zero background or formal training in anything financial but have in recent years really tried my best to learn to be able to make informed decisions.

I’ve just started working a bit again after a hiatus of staying home with the kids for 5 years. My work is as an independent contractor in healthcare, so no employer-based retirement plan available. I have 2 previous employer-based plans (TIAACREF and Fidelity), plus a small pension that are just sitting. I opened a traditional IRA a few years ago, but have used it only as a means for backdoor Roth funding. The backdoor Roth is the reason I’ve not done anything with the other retirement accounts.

Neither my husband or myself have been self-employed before, so this is new territory for us. I don’t want to interfere with my ability to continue with backdoor Roth contributions, even though I’m not sure to what degree I will use it since I will be able to directly tax deduct contributions again. We are also unsure as to how much we will actually allot to a new retirement account for me, as we feel we are doing well in this area (for years have aggressively contributed to available employer plans, plus backdoor Roth, and a brokerage account). The biggie reason for me to work again is because we have college looming and know we will face a shortfall with our 529s. I’d like to roll my funds from previous employment into an account I can manage on my own.