Setting myself to TLH before the end of the year

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
avp

Setting myself to TLH before the end of the year

Post by avp »

Hello, I'm still learning about TLH but am looking for some guidance on how to proceed. I want to set myself up to tax-loss harvest before the end of the year, if the opportunity arises. Obviously, I want to reduce my taxable income this year because I had an large payout from my job this year that put my some of my taxable income into the 24% tax bracket. What would be the next recommended steps to TLH and possibly claim the max $3k realized loss for this year (assuming will markets go down)?

I own a small amount in my taxable brokerage account:
  • FSKAX = $5.7k
  • VTI = $1.4k
  • SPAXX (Gov't Money Market a.k.a. Core Position) = $9.1k
Other accounts that I am still contributing to until the end of the year:
  • Roth IRA = FXIAX (Fidelity 500 Index Fund)
  • 401k = VIIIX (Vanguard Institutional S&P 500 Index Trust)
  • 401k BrokerageLink = FZROX (Fidelity Zero Total Market Index)
  • HSA = FZROX
I've been reading past TLH posts and I've read the TLH wiki, but have a few questions that sway me to make a better decision on what I should do next. I know timing market is frowned upon, but I've been reluctant to invest the money in SPAXX during market highs like it is now, but a part of me thinks that in order to TLH, I need to continue investing. Even though my positions in taxable are small, my current FSKAX and VTI lots are green and it'd probably take another "March 2020 dip" or similar to put those lots in the red since these lots were purchased a while back. With the elections coming up, it makes my decision to put money in the volatile market a little harder. Nonetheless, should I throw my $9.1k into VTI and look out for TLH opportunities?