Solo 401K (E trade or TD Ameritrade?)

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Attica11

Solo 401K (E trade or TD Ameritrade?)

Post by Attica11 »

Hi Bogleheads!

I am a contract worker that recently found out about solo 401K. I originally thought that you have to have an employer to have a 401K. I really wish college taught me this...

I currently have a Roth 401K in Vanguard that I max out ($6,000), and a taxable account that I contribute in every payday.

I read about mega Roth ira backdoor and how I could accomplish that with a solo 401K.

I have spent the last 7 hours reading, and my brain is really confused about the different brokerages. It seems that E-trade and TD Ameritrade are the best for solo 401K, but I am not sure which one is the best?

My plan is to just invest in a target fund or a 4 fund strategy. I am new to investing, just graduated last year and started investing last year.

Could someone point me in the right direction? \

Also does this strategy make sense? I should be opening up a solo 401K and max that with a Roth ira, and anything left over should go into a Robo non-tax-advantaged investing account for TLH?

I am 25, and I am really confused about all of this.

Thank you for your time!
Duckie

Re: Solo 401K (E trade or TD Ameritrade?)

Post by Duckie »

Attica11 wrote:I am a contract worker that recently found out about solo 401K.
So you are paid 1099 not W-2 and file Schedules C and SE with your taxes?
I currently have a Roth 401K in Vanguard that I max out ($6,000)
Do you mean you have a Roth IRA at Vanguard?
I read about mega Roth ira backdoor and how I could accomplish that with a solo 401K.
As a sole proprietor with a standard solo 401k you can contribute an employEE elective deferral, either pre-tax or Roth, up to $19.5K. Plus you can make an employER pre-tax contribution of roughly 20% of net income, up to a total of $57K (including the $19.5K).