Late start, need advice on allocation and fund selection

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
psyrnpsy

Late start, need advice on allocation and fund selection

Post by psyrnpsy »

Hello!

I have been reading posts here for a while and am grateful for all the generous folks who post their thoughts, recommendations and wisdom here. I have learned so much and am continuously inspired by what I read here. Thank you all so much!

I am 60 years old, started saving 5 years ago. Total household income 250k per year. Partner retired, collects 1,800/month in Social Security. I plan to work full-time until at least age 70, likely until 75 (I am a professional medical provider and can likely work as long as I want and am able); reality is I love what I do and will likely work part-time well into retirement; I am an essential worker, highly skilled, very well paid and in demand, so feel very secure professionally. I plan to start collecting Social Security at age 70. I will be vested in a pension in May 2021 and if I work until age 70, projected benefit will exceed 9k per month pre-tax.

I have access to Fidelity 403B, 457B and a Defined Contribution Plan. I have been contributing to the default fund (Target Dated 2035), weighted toward US and foreign stock (75%) and about 25% bonds. We just increased our saving to 7k a month and we still live comfortably; we plan to increase that by 6k a year each year going forward.

Our greatest challenge right now is determining my allocation and whether I should stick with the Target Date Fund or create my own mix from the other choices I describe below. We am new to this, and newly serious about rescuing our retirement. I know we are very late to the table, but we come with a couple of aces in our hands. The Boglehead investment philosophy resonates with us and we like the idea of having a simple mix of domestic and foreign stocks, and high quality bonds.