Where to start - advising my DS #1

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
cjzimmer2

Where to start - advising my DS #1

Post by cjzimmer2 »

I'm new to learning anything about investing but realize it's way past time. I've read most of The Simple Path to Wealth and browsed some on here. But I still need things spelled out pretty simply. I've also got 2 adult children who are working (and living at home) that I need to start teaching this topic to as well. Since each group (DH and I, DS #1 and DS #2) each have distinct situations I'm going to ask about each in different posts as I gather the information.

DS #1 (22 years old)
DS has been working for 4 years while in college. He contributes 6% to his 401k and has since the day he began. However, they sold off his branch to another company so he has money in 2 accounts. Account from old company he has about $1800 as his vested portion. There is more than that in the account but since he no longer works for that company I'm assuming there is no way for him to earn the extra portion. I'm assuming we should roll this into something else but not sure what (can he roll it into his current's company's or does he have to set up a new one). Current company he has just under $10k but it says he is 100% vested. I don't know what percentage his company matches but I'm guessing maybe 2-3% since the statement shows their contributions to be quite a bit less than his. The money seems to be going into a traditional 401k but I see on the investment screen that there appears to be an option for a Roth 401k as well.