Hiring my first employee, so will have to lose my Solo 401(k). What to do now?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
dpat

Hiring my first employee, so will have to lose my Solo 401(k). What to do now?

Post by dpat »

I am a mortgage broker and have owned my company and been the sole employee for the last two years. For the last two years, I have maxed out my solo 401(k) at $56k.

However, I plan on hiring my first employee within the next couple of months and am trying to determine what employer-related retirement vehicles may be a good fit.

Details of business:
-S-Corp, anticipated net business income of $1.1MM-$1.2MM for 2020.
-W2 income for myself at $150,000, allowing me to contribute $57k to my solo 401(k1)

Goals:
-Allow myself to put away as much money on a tax-deferred basis as possible (hopefully near the ~$57k range or higher)
-Be able to offer my employee a plan where I can match 3-5% of their contributions

Have looked into a SEP IRA, but that would require me to also contribute a large amount to any employee I hire. If I grow and hire more employees, I am not sure if this would be sustainable.

What employment-related retirement vehicles may make sense for my situation knowing that the Solo 401(k) will soon be off the table?

Thanks in advance!
clarkdfw

Re: Hiring my first employee, so will have to lose my Solo 401(k). What to do now?

Post by clarkdfw »

Check out SIMPLE IRA
Spirit Rider

Re: Hiring my first employee, so will have to lose my Solo 401(k). What to do now?

Post by Spirit Rider »

If your one-participant 401k is at a provider other than Vanguard, you can elect employee eligibility restrictions. These restrictions can include up to age 21 and a minimum of one year of service >= 1,000* hours. This is elected in the adoption agreement. If you didn't elect at adoption, you can file an amended adoption agreement to do so.