Pay down mortgage or invest

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Goosh

Pay down mortgage or invest

Post by Goosh »

Hi All,

I posted other topic non financial section, topic rent or sell, and got several of advice what to do with my second house, which convinced me to sell.
I think here is the right section to ask my question about investing.

I decided to sell my second house, and will get profit around $400k which is just right amount to pay my primary home mortgage $390k, just refinanced 2.85% rate and 29 years left.

What would you advice? pay down the mortgage or invest instead?

Thank you,
Goosh

PS: I am new to investing , sounds promising also same time scary.
willthrill81

Re: Pay down mortgage or invest

Post by willthrill81 »

What would you do with the funds if you didn't pay down the mortgage? If you would buy bonds or other fixed income, then you're probably better off paying down/off the mortgage. If you would buy stocks or rental real estate, then you're probably better off doing that instead.

If you're leaning toward stocks, ask yourself this: if you had no mortgage, would you use your home as collateral for a 2.85% loan to buy stocks? If yes, then keep the mortgage and buy stocks. If no, then pay off the mortgage.
“It's a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don't keep your feet, there's no knowing where you might be swept off to.” J.R.R. Tolkien,The Lord of the Rings
FiveK

Post by FiveK »

willthrill81 wrote: Thu Sep 03, 2020 9:26 pm If you're leaning toward stocks, ask yourself this: if you had no mortgage, would you use your home as collateral for a 2.85% loan to buy stocks? If yes, then keep the mortgage and buy stocks. If no, then pay off the mortgage.
That is one way to look at it.