Vanguard Bond ETF choices and rebalancing

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
toolmon

Vanguard Bond ETF choices and rebalancing

Post by toolmon »

Hello, I am somewhat new to investing, but have in the past year opened a Vanguard account and begun to invest a small amount of money in stock and bond ETFs. I am 67, retired from the Federal government with a pension and social security, and am getting ready to invest roughly $300K in funds I will be receiving as part of an inheritance. I have read several articles and entries about windfall investing. My risk tolerance seems to indicate about a 40% stock: 60% bond/cash split. In anticipation of receiving the funds, I expressed interest in the Vanguard personal advisor service (PAS) and spoke twice with an advisor who as part of their preliminary, no cost offering, outlined a potential plan consisting of a 40:60 stock:bond split with bond categories of 17% US short term bonds, 17% US intermediate term bonds, 8% US long term bonds, and 18% international bonds. He recommended the use of ETFs instead of conventional mutual funds, and I have researched the different bond ETF offerings within Vanguard and come up with my own tentative mix which includes BND (total bond market ETF), BSV (short term bond ETF), BIV (intermed term bond ETF), BLV (long term bond ETF), and also VGSH (short term treasure ETF), VTIP (short term inflation protected securities ETF), and BNDX (total int'l bond index ETF). A month ago I purchased a few shares of each to test the waters, and all except the VTIP and BND have shown losses, which may perhaps be expected in bond funds when stocks are rallying. But my current lack of understanding of how the different bond ETFs work in relation to one another and current market conditions is a serious shortcoming. So do you think that going ahead with the Vanguard PAS once I receive the inheritance and paying the 0.3% fee would