Anyone using crypto exchanges to earn higher interest on their cash?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
tman9999

Anyone using crypto exchanges to earn higher interest on their cash?

Post by tman9999 »

I've been researching crypto exchanges and lending for a few months now. While Bitcoin and various scams and hacks associated with it get all the press, there is a lot of other activity in digital currency world that has not gotten nearly as much media coverage. These exchanges are fast.

Not sure how many people outside the crypto community realize that there are crypto coins known generically as "stablecoins". These coins are pegged to a currency and designed to stay equal to the value of that currency regardless of what is happening in financial or crypto markets.

You could earn over 8% interest on a US Dollar Coin (USDC) deposit, compounded monthly without volatility. https://bitcompare.net/platforms/blockfi/savings-rates

Just wondering if any bogleheads have investigated digital asset savings or lending as a way to increase return without volatility.
Doctor Rhythm

Re: Anyone using crypto exchanges to earn higher interest on their cash?

Post by Doctor Rhythm »

You could earn over 8% interest on a US Dollar Coin (USDC) deposit, compounded monthly without volatility.
Does this statement comport with your fundamental beliefs about risks versus returns?
btc228

Post by btc228 »

The drive for yield has me looking at this stuff too, but I've been skeptical about the security. Although the currency risk is low with stable coins, I'm not sure about the stability of these lending networks (financially, legally, hacks).
fabdog

Post by fabdog »

Ah, the stablecoins... backed by equivalent USD deposits... wasn't that what Tether was pitching? Didn't they finally have to admit they had nothing like the USD they claimed to have?