Financial Advisor / Planner

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Finley2021

Financial Advisor / Planner

Post by Finley2021 » Sat Aug 01, 2020 8:02 am

I just read Bogleheads guide to investing and i know they are not big fans of advisors unless they have been vetted. Can someone please google "Highball Advisors" and let me know what your thoughts are? Fee structure - Qualifications? Yes, I am a railroad professional.

I appreciate the help.

dbr

Re: Financial Advisor / Planner

Post by dbr » Sat Aug 01, 2020 8:16 am

A 1% fee for assets under management (AUM) falling to 0.5% for accounts over $1M is not a recommended choice. Over time that cost will rob you of a significant fraction of your retirement wealth. To put a number on that, if you take the nominal 4% a year of your portfolio for spending, you will immediately have 25% of your income taken away by your advisor. It is highly likely they will also place you in higher cost investments charging you as much as another 1% in fund costs and tax inefficiency, but you will have to look at see what investments they use. If it is 1%, then you will have paid over half your annual income to your advisor.

For that reason alone I would not go here for advice. I do agree there are special conditions that may apply to Railroad Retirements.

An alternative, if you have to pay for advice, would be to go to Vanguard and sign up for Vanguard Personal Advisory service at 0.3% AUM. A difference is that Vanguard will certainly place you in low cost funds but I doubt have any expertise at all about tax and other specifics that apply to railroad workers. It could also be your union or other sources of advice can be found without signing up for investment fees.

Topic Author
Finley2021

Post by Finley2021 » Sat Aug 01, 2020 8:22 am

I really appreciate the advice. Thank you

tibbitts

Post by tibbitts » Sat Aug 01, 2020 8:25 am

Finley2021 wrote: