New Roth IRA account question

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
heman466s

New Roth IRA account question

Post by heman466s »

I'm a 34 y/o physician just getting started with improving my personal finances.
Need recommendations about investment options for my roll over IRA.
Should I go for 100% investment in VTSAX vs. adding an international index fund ( which one and how much %) in my portfolio.
lakpr

Re: New Roth IRA account question

Post by lakpr »

For a 34 year old physician, I would recommend at least 20% in bonds (My thumb rule is Age-20 to Age-10 in bonds, I just picked this as a midway point in that range).

VTSAX (Vanguard Total Stock Market Index) and VBTLX (Vanguard Total Bond Market Index).

The bigger problem is that, as a physician, you will be earning mucho dolares, you will not be able to make Roth IRA contributions based on your salary (if you fall into the 24% tax bracket or above). Are you just about completing residency, and are you sure you are eligible to contribute to Roth IRA based on your income?

That eligibility phases out at $124k gross income as SINGLE, and $206k gross income for MARRIED FILING JOINTLY.

You can do a 'Backdoor Roth' process -- but that would mean there cannot be any Rollover IRA. You need to roll that Rollover-IRA into your current employer plan 401k / 403b. Why not consider taking that step -- THEN worry where to invest it?
Topic Author
heman466s

Post by heman466s »

Thank you for your reply!

I'm just starting my first attending job.
I was thinking of doing roll over 401k-->IRA-->backdoor ROTH. I did'nt know this was not possible.
lakpr

Post by lakpr »

heman466s wrote: Fri Jul 24, 2020 6:45 pm Thank you for your reply!

I was thinking of doing roll over 401k-->IRA-->backdoor ROTH. I did'nt know this was not possible.
That sentence makes me think -- you may be confusing a "Roth conversion" with "Backdoor Roth".