Roth IRA Idea: Burst my bubble

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Marche24

Roth IRA Idea: Burst my bubble

Post by Marche24 » Thu Jul 23, 2020 1:12 am

Hi all!!

Newbie here seeking some advice...

Background: My wife didn't had a retirement account so I started reading to see what option she had and when reading about Roth IRA being able to withdraw any contributions (not the gains) at any moment w/o paying penalties or fees a light bulb turned on. But before making any moves I wanted to take other people input and here I am.

Present: Investing 15% to a 401K; have a emergency and money market account; paid off my car and have extra cash

Idea: Unlike other retirement accounts (e.g. 401K), money inside a Roth IRA is not locked away until retirement and you’re allowed to withdraw up to the amount you’ve contributed to your Roth IRA at any time, and for any reason, without tax or penalty. Instead of keep trowing money into my money market account at 1% interest rate, my idea is to start maxing out my Roth IRA (wife will have her own) and investing that money in a fund that tracks the SP500 and hopefully get bigger returns. Why? To retire early. With the Roth IRA I have access to my contributions at any time, so if X years from now I contributed $150K and those $150K can cover my expenses for 2-5 years I could withdraw (sell shares) my contribution ($150K) and retire 2-5 years sooner because my money is not "locked" until I'm 59.5 years old like a 401K. Once I'm 59.5 years old I can tap into my 401K and the gains from the Roth IRA. Why do it this way? Will have bigger gains investing than in a money market account

Thoughts?

retired@50

Re: Roth IRA Idea: Burst my bubble

Post by retired@50 » Thu Jul 23, 2020 6:14 am

Welcome to the forum.

I don't think there is a bubble to burst. It appears your understanding of the situation is solid.