Help with ESPP

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
stocknoob4111

Help with ESPP

Post by stocknoob4111 »

Just onboard in a new job and i've never done the ESPP before. Have been doing research and it looks like the best option is to sell the shares immediately after the purchase date. The clarification I need is the vesting period. I see many recommendations to sell the ESPP shares immediately after purchase as the best option to reduce equity holding risk and cash in on a guaranteed return... however, if there is a vesting period then how is this even possible?

Assuming I have no cash flow problems and can contribute 15% towards ESPP I understand that this money will be tied up during the offering period (6 months) until the shares are bought at the end of the period. I could've invested the same money in the S&P 500 instead. However, due to the guaranteed 17.6% return if selling shares immediately I am assuming the ESPP is a better bet?
PaunchyPirate

Re: Help with ESPP

Post by PaunchyPirate »

stocknoob4111 wrote: Tue Jul 21, 2020 5:54 pm Just onboard in a new job and i've never done the ESPP before. Have been doing research and it looks like the best option is to sell the shares immediately after the purchase date. The clarification I need is the vesting period. I see many recommendations to sell the ESPP shares immediately after purchase as the best option to reduce equity holding risk and cash in on a guaranteed return... however, if there is a vesting period then how is this even possible?

Assuming I have no cash flow problems and can contribute 15% towards ESPP I understand that this money will be tied up during the offering period (6 months) until the shares are bought at the end of the period. I could've invested the same money in the S&P 500 instead. However, due to the guaranteed 17.6% return if selling shares immediately I am assuming the ESPP is a better bet?