Total Newb-need advice on my Ameriprise conundrum

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
BooneDocks11

Total Newb-need advice on my Ameriprise conundrum

Post by BooneDocks11 »

Hello and thank you for taking the time to read this. Im a total newb to personal finance and investing but am trying to learn as much as I can. I am a recently graduated physician and now find myself with a total lack of financial preparedness. My wife and I made the mistake of rushing into a partnership with a financial advisor because we didn't know what to do with our income. As I attempt to educate myself, I realize I do not wish to be in such a relationship based off of the tenants of this forum.

I have attempted my very best to adhere to the posting guidelines:

Emergency funds: 6m

Debt
Cars: 30k (2.85% ) 21k (2.5% )
Mortgage: 434k (4.125%)

Tax Filing Status: married jointly

Tax Rate: 37% Federal, 5.25% State

State of Residence: NC

Ages:34 (his and hers)

Desired Asset allocation: 80% stocks / 20% bonds
Desired International allocation: 40% of stocks

Current portfolio size:
mid 6 figures

Current retirement assets

Taxable

Ameriprise Active DF MOD AGG (percent of total portfolio = 27%)
BSIIX BLACKROCK STRATEGIC INCOME OPPTYS INSTL CL
CMIEX MULTI MANAGER INTL EQUITY STRATEGIES INSTL CL
CTRZX MULTI MANAGER TOTAL RETURN BOND STRATEGIES CL Z
CZMGX MULTI MANAGER GROWTH STRATEGIES CL Z
CZMSX MULTI MANAGER SMALL CAP EQUITY STRATEGIES CL Z
CZMVX MULTI MANAGER VALUE STRATEGIES CL Z
DEUIX DELAWARE U S GROWTH INSTL CL
EMGNX WELLS FARGO EMERGING MARKETS EQUITY INSTL CL
MEIIX MFS VALUE CL I
MINIX MFS INTL INTRINSIC VALUE CL I
OTCIX MFS MID CAP GROWTH CL I
WFMIX Wells fargo special mid cap value instl CL

Ameriprise SPS advantage (25% of total portfolio)
AMGN AMGEN INC
AVB AVALONBAY COMMNTYS INC
AVGO BROADCOM INC
BBY BEST BUY COMPANY INC
BCE BCE INC NEW
BMY BRISTOL MYERS SQUIBB COMPANY
CMCSA COMCAST CORP CL A NEW