Long Time Reader - How Am I Doing?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
jtinsession

Long Time Reader - How Am I Doing?

Post by jtinsession »

Hi, everyone! While I don't think I'd obtain some of the wealth that is in these forums, I admire and respect all of your opinions and advice. I've been a long-time reader, and have applied what I've learned from you all to myself!

I'm a 30-year-old HS teacher and coach in NJ. I just finished up my 8th year teaching and 7th year coaching HS basketball. I also coach club basketball on the side. While I love my parents, I've been on my own in terms of figuring out my own personal finances besides the obvious. I just wanted to post my statistics and ask the board how am I doing at this moment regarding my retirement/savings and what I could do better as recommended by those here.

Income: Teacher Salary (everything included): $ 72,061 gross
HS Coaching: $3,800 gross
Club Basketball: It varies so I wouldn't want to count it, but a soft number would be $6,000 net yearly

Assets
House (just closed in April) - I live with my fiance (2 years), house/deed in my name (as I paid all DP/closing). We have thought about having her mom live with us in which should would contribute $500/mo. in "rent"
Car (paid in full)
Teacher Pension/SS
Roth IRA - Vanguard Target Date 90% stocks/10% bonds (2060 fund) - $19,397.18
403(b) - Vanguard Target Date Fund 90% stocks/10% bonds (2060 fund) - $2,985.51
Ally Savings: $7,506.64 (use this as an emergency fund/savings)

Note: The reason for the 403(b) is I transferred my funds from AXA (I know... I learned!)

Misc.
No undergrad debt
Have Masters... Paid in cash (20K cost - graduated 2018)
Have 0% CC debt that I will pay off in time (used to furnish house) - $6,414.92

Questions: