Best 529 Investment Plan for Yourself - NY529?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
BoglesRazor

Best 529 Investment Plan for Yourself - NY529?

Post by BoglesRazor » Mon Jun 29, 2020 8:54 pm

I am a resident of one of the 6 states in which a state income tax deduction can be taken from either an in-state or out of state 529 college savings plan. This means I can focus on getting the plan with the lowest expense ratio and management fees across the nation. I am single with no kids so I want to get a jump start now. According to the BogleWiki, this is what is recommended: https://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/529_pla ... ed_options. If you sort it by the lowest management fees and ER, Louisiana is ranked as the best 529 with zero management fees, but I don't see an option for 100% stock allocation (remember, no kids yet): https://www.able.osfa.la.gov/options.aspx.

Furthermore, according to SavingForCollege, the 529 plan with the lowest fees is SMART529 WV Direct College Savings Plan (West Virginia). However, the program manager is Hartford Funds and the expense ratio is 0.12% (lowest). One other option is the NY529, managed by Vanguard and shows 0.13% ER (static portfolio): https://www.nysaves.org/home/which-inve ... olios.html. Given my personal factors, I would choose NY529 over The Louisiana 529 because I can deduct state income tax for 2019, 2020, and 2021 all in the NY529 by becoming a resident in 2021 (see circumstances below). However, I want to know if anyone has invested in the LA 529 plan? It looks like they are also Vanguard, but I don't see a 100% equity allocation option (https://www.able.osfa.la.gov/options.aspx) nor do I see any ER fees? Is it worth choosing LA's plan for 80/20 if there are no management fees or ER? Or is the Boglewiki outdated and wrong?

Personal Factors to consider: