Portfolio Advice [Mid-Twenties Starting Out]

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
brisingr

Portfolio Advice [Mid-Twenties Starting Out]

Post by brisingr » Sun Jun 28, 2020 11:28 am

Hello everyone,

I have been working for a few years but am just starting to figure out asset allocation for my portfolio. A bit late I know, but better late than never. I don't have any retirement funds built up at the moment, just sitting on a pile of cash and would like to seek advice on the best way to construct my portfolio given various circumstances. Appreciate any advice you may have.

Personal Information

Location: Currently working in the US on a H1B visa, but intend to return to my home country in a few years. Not planning to apply for green card.

Debt: No real debt except credit card debt that I pay every month to build my credit score

Emergency Fund: $30,000

Current Retirement Funds: I did not participate in my employer's 401(K) program as I will be leaving the country in a few years so zero.

Portfolio Considerations
I currently have ~$200k+ in cash sitting in my bank account, excluding emergency fund stated above. I don't have much obligations at the moment but am considering purchasing a house when I move back to my home country, so sometime in the next 5 years or so. Downpayment for the house would be ~$500k (yes, housing is really expensive back home) but will be split between my partner and I, so my share would cost ~$250k.

While this would represent a significant cash outlay in the medium term, I will be earning income in the interim years which should in aggregate be sufficient to cover the outlay. Hence I think it makes sense to allocate a portion of my cash amount to long-term retirement savings.

My questions are therefore as follows: