Timing the Market

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
MarkAT

Timing the Market

Post by MarkAT » Mon May 25, 2020 8:58 am

Let me begin by saying that I understand the futility of trying to time the market. Nevertheless, it was fear of losing retirement funds that immobilized me and kept me from putting my Vanguard Roth 401(k) in anything but a money market fund And missing out on earning thousands of dollars over the past three years. At the suggestion of several of you on this forum, I have begun the process of reading the wiki and I’m convinced that the three fund approach is the way to go. However, given what is going on in the market right now I still need to ask if tomorrow is the day that I should initiate the three fund approach or wait a bit longer. I can almost guess what your responses e will be, but being a newbie, I could use the confirmation.

retired@50

Re: Timing the Market

Post by retired@50 » Mon May 25, 2020 9:03 am

MarkAT wrote:
Mon May 25, 2020 8:58 am
Let me begin by saying that I understand the futility of trying to time the market. Nevertheless, it was fear of losing retirement funds that immobilized me and kept me from putting my Vanguard Roth 401(k) in anything but a money market fund And missing out on earning thousands of dollars over the past three years. At the suggestion of several of you on this forum, I have begun the process of reading the wiki and I’m convinced that the three fund approach is the way to go. However, given what is going on in the market right now I still need to ask if tomorrow is the day that I should initiate the three fund approach or wait a bit longer. I can almost guess what your responses e will be, but being a newbie, I could use the confirmation.