When to start investing again?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Zillions

When to start investing again?

Post by Zillions » Sun May 24, 2020 5:07 pm

In January, I moved 350K of my small $500K nest egg to cash. I missed out on the subsequent highs of Feb 2020 and the buying opportunity in March 2020.

Of the 150K, 50K is invested in Fidelity sector mutual funds, and the rest in around 5 - 6 shares each of blue chip & health care stocks.

I am now wondering if I should move back into investments again but the market is really high which worries me. I am new to Bogleheads and want to do the 3-fund portfolio and index funds from now on, as opposed to sector funds or individual stocks. Should I dollar cost average my way back in? If so, how often and how much each time?

Please advice?

scubadiver

Re: When to start investing again?

Post by scubadiver » Sun May 24, 2020 5:14 pm

Welcome to the forum!

The first issue you need to address is determining your desired asset allocation. Your post and the details concerning your recent investment history leads me to think you are risk averse. If correct, this would tend to favor a more conservative allocation irrespective of your investment timeline.

In any event, you should lump sum invest once you have determined your desired asset allocation.

Cheers,
Scubadiver

retired@50

Post by retired@50 » Sun May 24, 2020 5:17 pm

Zillions wrote:
Sun May 24, 2020 5:07 pm
In January, I moved 350K of my small $500K nest egg to cash. I missed out on the subsequent highs of Feb 2020 and the buying opportunity in March 2020.

Of the 150K, 50K is invested in Fidelity sector mutual funds, and the rest in around 5 - 6 shares each of blue chip & health care stocks.