Portfolio advice

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
uthendo

Portfolio advice

Post by uthendo » Sat May 23, 2020 8:02 am

I'm pretty new to investing, or at least new to trying to maximize gains. Every time I read something it seems to make sense, but the more I read the more it becomes a conflicting mess. I'd like some advice on asset allocation. Currently I'm putting nearly everything I have control over into S&P500, but would like to tweak it some.

Emergency funds: $25,000

Debt:
No CC or car debt
Student loans: $130,000 @ 3% --low enough interest that I don't plan on paying it off early.
Mortgage: $330,000 @ 3.625%
Commercial property: $170,000@4.5%. Payments are $4100/mo. Prepayment penalty for 3 years so cannot pay it off early (otherwise I would). I rent to myself so it's not generating additional revenue.

Tax Filing Status: Married Filing Jointly

Tax Rate: 35% Federal, 10% State marginal rates

State of Residence: CA

Desired Asset allocation: 80-100% stocks / 0-20% bonds. I know this is much more aggressive than advisable, but I'm a "young" investor--I started investing 4 years ago, and have 15-20 years to go. The AA will naturally move towards bonds, as will be explained below.
Desired International allocation: ???% of stocks. I don't know enough to say whether I want to invest international or not. I'm open to suggestions.

Roth IRA: 5%
VTSAX: $38,000

529 Plan: $35,000 (2 young kids)

Vanguard taxable: 8%
VTIAX: $10,000
VTSAX: $43,000

401k: 50%
VBILX: $47,000
iSharesS&P500: $297,000

Cash Balance Plan: 17% (I have no control over AA... well, maybe I could but never tried) The target is a steady 5%.
DFA Emerging Markets Core Equity I $9,086.00
DFA International Core Equity Portofolio $17,409.89
DFA INTERNATIONAL VALUE $7,716.60
DFA International Small Company I $3,655.16
DFA Global Real Estate Securties $5,180.26
Dodge & Cox Income $43,653.83