Has anyone ever used their Emergency Fund?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
REITired

Has anyone ever used their Emergency Fund?

Post by REITired » Fri May 22, 2020 5:46 pm

Hello all - Newbie here with a bit of a market research question...

I will preface this topic by saying that I 100% agree with having an Emergency Fund and currently have 6 months saved up in a "high-yield" savings account and have been thinking that my wife and I should beef that fund up to about 9 months.

I know this is a deeply personal topic and is very much a function of what makes someone feel most secure, but got to wondering what data would show on how often people actually have used their Emergency Fund (does this exist?). So I'm interested to know from you all if you've ever had to touch your E-Fund? If so, how often?

Wasn't sure if this one was more for the personal finance thread or here, so feel free to move this around.

Thanks.

retired@50

Re: Has anyone ever used their Emergency Fund?

Post by retired@50 » Fri May 22, 2020 5:57 pm

Sure. Several times in my life I found myself unemployed / laid off. The first was back in 1991, and I still had 28 years left on a mortgage. :shock:

I was glad I had some money set aside.

Regards,
This is one person's opinion. Nothing more.

livesoft

Post by livesoft » Fri May 22, 2020 6:00 pm

Here is a past poll that you may find interesting:
viewtopic.php?t=35769
Wiki This signature message sponsored by sscritic: Learn to fish.

RadAudit
Location: Second star on the right and straight on 'til morning

Post by RadAudit » Fri May 22, 2020 6:02 pm

I'm 73 and retired. Yes. I have an emergency fund. It's in a money market account. And, I use it.
FI is the best revenge. LBYM. Invest the rest. Stay the course. - PS: The cavalry isn't coming, kids. You are on your own.

KlangFool

Post by KlangFool » Fri May 22, 2020 6:04 pm

OP,