Ponzi Scheme?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
SansaStark

Ponzi Scheme?

Post by SansaStark »

I'm in need of a bit of advice regarding not my own personal investments but that of a parent. I've recently taken a personal interest in investing a portion of a monetary gift that I have been sitting on for several years into a Roth IRA as a means of starting my portfolio. I am in the training portion of my career, so I have been advised by multiple financial literate individuals that my best option is to maximize after-tax retirement savings accounts. To make a long story short I wanted to run this by a parent of mine to get their take on how they have been investing money and what their take was on this investment strategy.

Said parent told me that they have currently placed a large some of money (approximately $300k) with an investor who deals in currency trading. Said investor is a friend of a family friend who previously used to work in banking (position or credentials I could not deduce) and who retired early from this position and pursued currency trading for approximately the last 20 years. He offers clientele 10% annual returns on their investment which the client could choose to receive in the form of a 1099 either semi-annually or annually. The client could also choose to not receive the return but rather add it to the principal amount and compound the return year after year. Also reportedly he offers 12% if the client invests over $1 million.