What time of the day is good to buy ETF / Index funds ?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
johnpau

What time of the day is good to buy ETF / Index funds ?

Post by johnpau »

I'm completely new to this investing. Correct me if I'm wrong.

Trying to get my feet wet during this time, to see how thing usually work.
I know I will not gamble with any big number, but very limited number 5K (so I can get a good night sleep). Long term. I'm sure everyone wants to buy a lows.

Now coming to purchasing ETFs or Index funds (either with Vanguard or Fidelity).

I think ETF and Index Funds price is determined based on the price after the stock market closes.

What time of the day is it good to place an order for the ETF or Index Funds based on the below scenario ?

Monday = stock market is in positive number (+)
Tuesday = stock market is in negative number (-)
Wednesday = stock market is in positive number (+)

Definitely we all want to buy on Tuesday when things are going low,
lets say if we place an order at 3PM EST on Tuesday , are we guaranteed
to get the low rate as on Tuesday closing ?

If we place an order after 5PM EST on Tuesday then we would get rate as on Wednesday closing which might be high.
greenspam

Re: What time of the day is good to buy ETF / Index funds ?

Post by greenspam »

There is a big difference between ETFs and Mutual Funds:

ETFs you can buy/sell all day long, they trade up and down all day long, like any regular stock. You can buy and sell an ETF at different prices in the same day...

In sharp contrast, Mutual Funds are only priced once per day, at the closing of the market on any given day.
as always, | peace, | greenie.
sometimesinvestor

Post by sometimesinvestor »