Is this a good time to invest in 529 plan?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
van_sun_38

Is this a good time to invest in 529 plan?

Post by van_sun_38 »

Hi,

I have been following Bogleheads forum for a couple of years, which has helped me tremendously in staying in course. I am still new to the investing world and would love some feedback. We recently had a baby and we started thinking about putting money away for her college education. My husband and I both have our own personal retirement accounts (mine is with Vanguard and his is with Fidelity). We are thinking of opening a joint account for our daughter college fund. I have some questions:
1) Is this a good time to invest in 529 fund? I read through some threads and some people actually stop putting money in 529 plan? I wonder why?
2) If we do decide to invest in 529, which brokerage account do you suggest and what index fund? I was thinking of Vanguard, debating between vtsax or vtsmx.
3) And folks here have joint investment account? How has it worked for you? What are some of the tips to manage it and mitigate disagreement?

Some background: We are both in early 30s, both working. Although our jobs are affected by the Covid-19 (reduced hours), we live in a good market area that we can find another job if needed. We also have 2 year worth of emergency fund in the worst case scenario.

Thank you very much. Appreciate your feedback!
bloom2708

Re: Is this a good time to invest in 529 plan?

Post by bloom2708 »

Does your state have a 529 plan and do they offer any state tax breaks to contribute?

Two primary advantages of the 529.

1. Many states give a tax break for contributing some amount
2. With ~18 years until the first funds are needed, the funds can grow tax free if used for qualifying college (and before now) expenses.