SP500 Index fund will outperform total stock market?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Mode32

SP500 Index fund will outperform total stock market?

Post by Mode32 » Thu Mar 26, 2020 3:40 pm

https://www.marketwatch.com/story/coron ... =home-page

Although I’ve been investing for a while, I’m fairly new at critically reviewing investment articles. Above is a recent article from MarketWatch.com.

It basically says the five stocks (Microsoft, Amazon, Facebook, Alphabet, and Google) with the largest market capitalizations have outperformed the market since this economic downturn in Feb ‘20 with a high likelihood that there will be a “long-term shift: The stock market is becoming split between a few large firms that are wildly profitable and everything else.” The articles goes on to recommend investing in broad market index funds (which I already do like most of us on this site).

Of course, every article has its own bias, but could this article be further interpreted to mean that an S&P 500 specific Index fund (VFIAX) would likely outperform a Total Stock Market Index fund (VTSAX) because the weights given to the above five companies within the VFIAX are higher? I understand that the performance of VFIAX vs VTSAK is very similar, but would like to hear how seasoned investors may look at this.

Thanks in advance.

Stay safe and healthy.

alex_686

Re: SP500 Index fund will outperform total stock market?

Post by alex_686 » Thu Mar 26, 2020 3:46 pm

Hard to tell what the future will bring but the past 20 years have favored larger corporations. Partly thanks to to technology, networking and increasing complex regulations.