No Longer Eligible for Solo 401K. What Next?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Frisky77

No Longer Eligible for Solo 401K. What Next?

Post by Frisky77 » Fri Feb 14, 2020 6:25 pm

Hello,
I am a longtime lurker on these forums making my first post. Because I need something! But thanks in advance. This forum and the wikis have been of incalculable value to me these past few years. I have made great strides in my retirement and personal financial planning, and I have many of you to thank for your comments and information on this forum. Now back to me!

So I am an attorney with a private solo practice in Chicago. Not married and no kiddos. 42 years young. For the past several years I did not have my own employee and was able to take advantage of the large contribution limits with a Solo 401(k) I opened at Fidelity. I also made backdoor Roth contributions and have my HSA there as well. Over these three accounts and a small taxable account I have a total of about $340K using a basic 3 Fund Portfolio, 75/25 Stocks/Bonds.

The nature and increased volume of my practice essentially forced me to hire an assistant who works nearly full time. The employee started with me last year but did not work a total of 1,000 hours in '19 so I am able to make my contribution to the Solo 401K account for 2019. My employee works 34 hours a week so I will be well over that limit in '20.

I am making some assumptions below and I have a few questions. If any of my assumptions are wrong please let me know:

1. I think my practical choices for 2020 are to either open a SIMPLE IRA or a regular 401K. In searching the forum and doing a little research it seems Employee Fiduciary would be the choice for lower cost and less paperwork if I went the 401K route. A SIMPLE IRA could be opened at Fidelity or VG.

2. As for my own contributions I could put $13,500 into a SIMPLE IRA and $19,500 into a 401K, tax-deferred.