How to mirror Vanguards with a pre-tax 457 retirement plan

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
glad_is_I

How to mirror Vanguards with a pre-tax 457 retirement plan

Post by glad_is_I » Thu Feb 13, 2020 12:56 pm

Hi there,

I am just beginning to learned about FI and investing your money to properly to achieve FI. I currently have a pre-tax 457 retirement plan through work. It's similar to a 401(k) with the difference being that I am the account can be withdrawn from without penalty after severance from City service, regardless of age (subject to income taxes). With the 401(k) I would have to wait until age 59 1/2 to withdraw. Here is link for more info and a comparison between the City of New York's 457 and 401(k) plans: https://www1.nyc.gov/assets/olr/downloa ... arison.pdf

Okay so, as I said, I am current contributing to a pre-tax 457 plan (7.5% of my income goes here and I have a current balance of 34K). However, I never paid much mind into how my contributions were being invested until now. Previously I had chosen a pre-arranged Portfolio. Below is how this Portfolios was being invested:
Fixed Income Funds – 12%
Stable Income – 0.0%
TIPS - 0.0%
Bond - 11.8%

Equity Funds – 88%
Equity Index – 45.1%
Mid-Cap – 7.0%
International – 29.1%
Small-Cap – 7.0%

The fee for this portfolio is .20%.

After reading JL Collin's The Simple Path of Wealth, I panicked and decided to instead allocate 90% of my contributions to the Equity index Fund (which is a portfolio of equity securities of companies listed on the U. S. securities exchanges that replicates the composition and characteristics of the S&P 500 Index, fee: .05%) and 10% in Bonds (which is a portfolio designed to be a well-diversified portfolio of government, agency, corporate, and mortgage backed securities, fee .13%).

Any opinions/advise on my move? Should I be doing anything different? Thank you!

lakpr