Saving and investing for kids

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Mario2222

Saving and investing for kids

Post by Mario2222 » Tue Feb 11, 2020 10:47 pm

Is it a good idea to invest kids money in a balanced fund ? I'm thinking about vbiax vanguard balanced fund or one of the life strategies funds. I'm talking about a brokerage account.

EHEngineer

Re: Saving and investing for kids

Post by EHEngineer » Tue Feb 11, 2020 11:01 pm

It's fine to do that. I'm not a FAFSA expert, but I understand that money in kid's name will most severly affect FAFSA aid. more severly than money in a parent's name, money in a 529 (with parent owner) or money in a retirement account. If child has earned income I recommend putting the money in a roth. it's better for student aid and for tax treatment.
Or, you can ... decline to let me, a stranger on the Internet, egg you on to an exercise in time-wasting, and you could say "I'm probably OK and I don't care about it that much." -Nisiprius

Topic Author
Mario2222

Post by Mario2222 » Wed Feb 12, 2020 9:22 am

I want to open a brokerage account on my name. I think that any accounts on their names will effect their chances of getting students aid packages.
Last edited by Mario2222 on Wed Feb 12, 2020 9:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

oldfatguy

Post by oldfatguy » Wed Feb 12, 2020 9:24 am

Mario2222 wrote:
Wed Feb 12, 2020 9:22 am
I want to open a brokerage account on my name.
If it is your money that you are investing to give to your kids at some point in the future, open the account in your name. If the money belongs to your child(ren), then the account(s) should be in their name.

dukeblue219

Post by dukeblue219 » Wed Feb 12, 2020 9:28 am

There's many ways to do this, and philosophies differ on whether you want to bless/curse your kids with a large balance of cash at a young age.